Working Plan

The forests in the state are managed under the prescriptions of a working plan/scheme prepared on the basis of principles of sustainable forest management and recognized and innovative silvicultural practices. The working plans are being approved by the authority as designated by the Ministry of Environment, Forests & Climate Change, Government of India.

There are various levels like Working Plan circles/ Working Plan Divisions of which Working Plan Officers (rank of Deputy Conservator of Forests) are the key functionaries. Working plan is generally revised every 10 years; The working plan of forests other than those under the control of Forest Department like municipal, cantonment, private, village forests etc. is being prepared by Working Plan Officer on the request of the owner by owner themselves or through outside consultants. Micro-plan of jointly managed forests is prepared by forest staff of forest division as per MOU and in consultation with the communities involved. The micro-plan so prepared is integrated with the working plan of that forest division.

The forest area of the state is being managed under fifty (50) number of Forest and Wildlife (WL) Divisions; out of which six (6) Wildlife Divisions namely Chandaka WL, Sunabeda WL, Satkosia WL, Hirakud WL & Simlipal Tiger Reserve having only protected area are managed under Wild Life Management Plans. The Forest area of seven Wildlife Divisions namely, Bamra WL, Rajnagar WL, Puri WL, Chilika WL, Balasore Wl, Bhadrak WL, Keonjhar WL partly having protected area are managed under Wild Life Management Plan and partly outside protected area managed under Working Plans. Thus, altogether 44 Forest Divisions including part of 7 Wildlife Divisions are covered under Working Plans for scientific management of Forests.


Status of Working Plan


  • The Working Plans of 8 Forest and Wild Life Divisions namely Boudh, Sundargarh, Rourkela, Dhenkanal, Deogarh, Bamra Wildlife, Ghumsur South, Berhampur are having long validity.
  • The Working Plans of 35 Forest and Wildlife Divisions namely Koraput, Paralakhemundi, Bhadrak WL, Athamalik, Karanjia, Rairangpur, Baripada, Balasore WL, Raygada, Angul, Kalahandi North, Bargarh, Jharsuguda, Nayagada, Bonai, Kalahandi South, Keonjhar, Keonjhar WL, Malkangiri, Puri WL, Phulbani, Jeypore, Rairakhol, Chilika WL, Athagarh, Baliguda, Cuttack, Sambalpur have expired.
  • Subarnapur, Bolangir, Rajnagar WL, Khordha, City Forest, Nabarangpur and Ghumsur North have expired and the working plan of Khariar Division is expiring in March 2018.
  • Presently, out of the above mentioned 36 Divisions, thePreliminary Working Plan Reports of 34 Divisions have been approved by the Standing Consultative Committee and the revised working plans are in progress.The draft Working Plan of the rest two divisions namely Nabarangpur and Ghumsur North Division is pending with Addl.PCCF (Central) for approval.
           >> National working plan Code_2014
           >> National working Plan Code _2023